Author Topic: gdb.exe---application program err  (Read 4950 times)

Offline andy2008

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
gdb.exe---application program err
« on: December 27, 2017, 02:51:49 pm »
Hello,everyone.
I am able to successfully bulid and run simple programs.But when i debug a simple "helloworld" project, i get a err: gdb.exe---Application program err.The program can't activate(0xc000007b).
The debugger shows:

Active debugger config: GDB/CDB debugger:gdb64
Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
Selecting target:
Debug
Adding source dir: D:\Codeblocks_templates\temp\helloworld\
Adding source dir: D:\Codeblocks_templates\temp\helloworld\
Adding file: D:\Codeblocks_templates\temp\helloworld\bin\Debug\helloworld.exe
Changing directory to: D:/Codeblocks_templates/temp/helloworld/.
Set variable: PATH=.;C:\TDM-GCC-64\bin;C:\TDM-GCC-64;C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\iCLS Client;C:\Program Files\Intel\iCLS Client;C:\Windows\System32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared;C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Backburner;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2016b\runtime\win64;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2016b\bin;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2016b\polyspace\bin;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\DAL;C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\DAL;C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\IPT;C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R) Management Engine Components\IPT;C:\Windows\System32\config\systemprofile\.dnx\bin;C:\Program Files\Microsoft DNX\Dnvm;C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1\Windows Performance Toolkit;C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\130\Tools\Binn;C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\Client SDK\ODBC\110\Tools\Binn;C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\120\Tools\Binn;C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\120\Tools\Binn;C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\120\DTS\Binn
Starting debugger: C:\TDM-GCC-64\bin\gdb.exe -nx -fullname -quiet  -args D:/Codeblocks_templates/temp/helloworld/bin/Debug/helloworld.exe
done
Registered new type: wxString
Registered new type: STL String
Registered new type: STL Vector
Setting breakpoints
Debugger finished with status 1

I have CodeBlocks 16.01 installed on win7 64bit and the version of gcc is x86_64-w64-mingw32-gcc-4.9.2.
What is the status 1 ?And what  should i do to solve the problem?
Thanks for any help and consideration in advance.

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3353
Re: gdb.exe---application program err
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2017, 09:24:36 pm »
google is your friend:
https://stackoverflow.com/a/10493137

and don't forget to read the comments....

Offline andy2008

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: gdb.exe---application program err
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2017, 03:03:11 am »
Hi,BlueHazzard, a nice day.
Google is the friend of the world ,but not in china.So i use other search engine instead,but get nothing useful.
I have used dependency walker to test gdb.exe, and find some dlls missing.
After i dowload the missing dlls,the dependency shows more dees are missing.
I crash dowm!The gdb.exe still could't activate successfully,not matter how i love her.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: gdb.exe---application program err
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2017, 11:20:11 am »
I have used dependency walker to test gdb.exe, and find some dlls missing.
The idea is to test your executable with it, not gdb.exe, because gdb.exe starts correctly...
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline andy2008

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: gdb.exe---application program err
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2017, 01:22:11 pm »
Thank you.
The executable program is ok,but the gdb.exe can't start correctly.
When i double-click the gdb.exe,i get the same error:The program can't activate(0xc000007b).

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: gdb.exe---application program err
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2017, 01:55:10 pm »
In the log you've provided it seems that gdb was able to start correctly.
In the debugger settings you can enable full logging to verify that this is really the case.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3353
Re: gdb.exe---application program err
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2017, 08:41:19 pm »
Also you are using a 64bit gdb and i don't know if this works with 32bit applications...