Author Topic: (wxwidgets) one big exe-file instead of exe and dll files  (Read 8431 times)

mpmfs

(wxwidgets) one big exe-file instead of exe and dll files
« on: January 21, 2006, 04:04:58 pm »
Hi folks,
i have read some forum-topics and i am very confused using static or dynamic library :shock:
(please keep in mind, when you're reading my post, that i am a newbie using wxWidgets  :oops: )

first:
--> i was able to compile the wxmsw26_gcc_cb.dll with mingw32-make  :lol:

Question 1:
--> i want to give my finished wxWidgets exe-file to friends WITHOUT the wxmsw26_gcc_cb.dll. Is it possible? In other words: Is it possible to "include" the libraries by unsing CB-template #b (see below)??? :oops:

Question 2:

In Code::Blocks I find two templetes:
(a) using wxWidgets DLL
     ~> Projects with this template are working fine  :)

BUT the template:
(b) using static wxWidgets library
     isn't working. (errror-message: ld.exe -enable-auto-import)

sorry for my bad english...

CU
Mike
« Last Edit: January 21, 2006, 09:39:45 pm by mpmfs »

takeshimiya

Re: (wxwidgets) one big exe-file instead of exe and dll files
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2006, 04:17:25 pm »
You need to recompile wxWidgets as a static library then.

Steps:

1) Throw away everything you've done :lol:
2) Recompile wxWidgets as a static library:
Code
mingw32-make -f makefile.gcc SHARED=0 RUNTIME_LIBS=static MONOLITHIC=1 BUILD=release UNICODE=0
3) Now you can use the C::B template with the fresh compiled static wxWidgets library.

Explanation:
Using SHARED=0 means that the wxWidgets library will be compiled as a static library.
Using RUNTIME_LIBS=static (instead of RUNTIME_LIBS=dynamic) links with the C runtime library as a static library.

Alert: Never compile a SHARED=1 with RUNTIME_LIBS=static. Evil things will happen. :lol:
« Last Edit: January 21, 2006, 04:55:58 pm by Takeshi Miya »

Offline tiwag

• Developer
  • Lives here!
  • sailing away ...
    • tiwag.cb