Author Topic: A quick thank you...  (Read 23291 times)

RKCole

A quick thank you...
« on: January 13, 2006, 05:01:21 am »
I hope that this is not just taking up space.  I wanted to write (I just joined this evening) and say thank you for this wonderful program.  On my income there is no way I could afford Visual C++ (even the student edition as I am a college student).  I also tried Dev-C++, which worked but had some problems on my PC.

I am a legally blind user, and I am still somewhat new to C++.  I passed my C++ courses at the college I attend with high grades, but unfortunately the professor did not know much about C++...thus I do not know much even after two quarters of hard work.

The fact that this program is cross-platform is very wonderful.  I have a goal, eventually, to try to begin programming a magnification program (something with universal scrolling) for Linux and Windows as for a commercial application the price is near $600.

I want to thank the makers of this program for the hard work; I am very impressed with what Code::Blocks has to offer.  I also gave my uncle a link to this program.  He was looking for a reason to leave MS Visual C++, and since obtaining Code::Blocks, he has found his reason.

Now that I have the program...I need to learn to program...in both wxWidgets and C++...Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks again for this great package, and keep up the good work!

Take care.

PS: At the risk of sounding ignorant, how would I go about downloading/installing wxSmith?  I had read about it awhile ago, and it grabbed my interest.

Offline killerbot

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: A quick thank you...
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2006, 07:31:18 am »
download one of the nightly builds --> wxSmith is included in it, no need to install; it's just there.

Good books about c++ : :
- "effetive c++" and "more effective c++" and "effective stl" from Scott Meyers