Author Topic: Procedure entry point problem  (Read 14184 times)

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5491
Procedure entry point problem
« on: January 06, 2006, 07:25:31 pm »
A few days ago, I had problems building on my laptop (see this thread higher up, with the resouce compiler and includes), I deleted my dfault.conf, and now I can build it again, that's the good news.

But when todays build (rev 1664) starts up I get the following message boxes (7 or 8 times) :
The procedure entry point _ZN7Manager3GetEP7wxFrameP10wxNotebookP8wxWindow could not be located in the dynamic link library codeblocks.dll. And I have done the update.bat (so did no forget that one).
Any ideas on what could have gone wrong this time ???

Lieven

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2006, 07:28:12 pm »
hmmm try a full rebuild?

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2006, 07:30:15 pm »
The evil bug attacks again!

Try this: in the messages dock select "Build log", close Code::Blocks and open it again. Now "Build log" will be the first tab and 3 (Code::Blocks, Code::Blocks Debug and Search Results) will be "hidden".

Fixed.

Any ideas on what could have gone wrong this time ???

When the SDK changes, make sure you build the contrib plugins with it ;)
(these are debug messages when trying to load the contrib plugins which are linked with an older codeblocks.dll)
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5491
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2006, 08:19:51 pm »
thanks Yiannis, I just remembered myself.

Offline eranif

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2006, 09:39:26 pm »
Mandrav,

From reading here - I see that some bug are poping up and being fixed by you (or others) can you please update the CVS with the bug fixes? So other people will get the fixes as well?

Thanks in advance,
Eran

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2006, 11:21:13 pm »
Mandrav,

From reading here - I see that some bug are poping up and being fixed by you (or others) can you please update the CVS with the bug fixes? So other people will get the fixes as well?

Thanks in advance,
Eran


Sure Eran.
I just want to show you the changes first. You know your code better and maybe spot a bug in the fix ;)
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline eranif

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2006, 10:50:24 am »
Ok,

Can you please point me to the updated sources? I will do the merge and will update the CVS

Eran

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2006, 11:16:46 am »
Ok,

Can you please point me to the updated sources? I will do the merge and will update the CVS

Eran

http://svn.berlios.de/wsvn/codeblocks/trunk/src/sdk/wxFlatNotebook/?rev=0&sc=0

There you will find the latest sources. The file cb_wxfn.patch contains the differences from wxFlatNotebook-CVS to the version in our repository.
If you need any help or clarification, PM me :)
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline kkez

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 153
    • WinapiZone
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2006, 02:26:53 pm »
There's a bug in the tabs position ("Tabs at top" and "Tabs at bottom" options from the popup menu you get by right clicking a tab): "tabs at top" option sets the tabs at bottom when they're on top.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2006, 02:29:06 pm by kkez »

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2006, 04:49:04 pm »
There's a bug in the tabs position ("Tabs at top" and "Tabs at bottom" options from the popup menu you get by right clicking a tab): "tabs at top" option sets the tabs at bottom when they're on top.

Thanks, fixed at rev1685.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline jmccay

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 202
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2006, 03:51:19 am »
I am getting that error.  I just did an update today.  I tried the selecting build log and closing it (assuming code::blocks), and I still get the error multiple times.

Any sugestions?  Should I apply the patch?  If so, from what directory should I apply it from (using tortoiseSVN).

jmccay
« Last Edit: January 10, 2006, 03:55:14 am by jmccay »
OS: WinXP, Win98 SE, & sometimes Linux

a little light reading from the wxWidgets 2.6.2 readme: A detailed 2000-page reference manual is supplied in HTML, PDF and Windows Help form: see the docs hierarchy.

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2006, 09:31:59 am »
Quote
I still get the error multiple times

What error are you talking about?
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline jmccay

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 202
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2006, 10:47:59 am »
The Error:

   The procedure entry point _ZN7Manager3GetEP7wxFrameP10wxNoteBookp8wxWindow could not be located in the dynamic link library codeblocks.dll

Version: Version 1.0 revision 1699 (gcc 3.4.4 Windows/ANSI, build: Jan 9 2006 21:12:39)
wxWidgets 2.6 (same as one used for builds by on of the people).
Nothing was generated in the codeblocks.rpt

The last time I built codeblocks from the svn myself it did work.  Unfortunately, I don't remember when I did the compiling becuase I didn't bother to save it (stupid me).

jmccay
« Last Edit: January 10, 2006, 10:50:06 am by jmccay »
OS: WinXP, Win98 SE, & sometimes Linux

a little light reading from the wxWidgets 2.6.2 readme: A detailed 2000-page reference manual is supplied in HTML, PDF and Windows Help form: see the docs hierarchy.

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2006, 10:53:32 am »
Quote
The Error:
...

As mentioned above, you have probably contrib plugins which you haven't rebuilt. Rebuild the "ContribPlugins.workspace"...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2778
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #14 on: January 10, 2006, 03:04:11 pm »
I also get messages like this when I've mixed together plugin compilations
of unicode/ANSI, __WXDEBUG__ and non __WXDEBUG__
modules etc.

When I stop, breath, check all my .cbp(s) all works well again.

thanks
pecan


« Last Edit: January 10, 2006, 03:05:51 pm by Pecan »

Offline jmccay

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 202
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2006, 01:04:10 am »
Quote
The Error:
...

As mentioned above, you have probably contrib plugins which you haven't rebuilt. Rebuild the "ContribPlugins.workspace"...

Ok.  I found it and I will compile it.

jmccay
« Last Edit: January 11, 2006, 01:13:46 am by jmccay »
OS: WinXP, Win98 SE, & sometimes Linux

a little light reading from the wxWidgets 2.6.2 readme: A detailed 2000-page reference manual is supplied in HTML, PDF and Windows Help form: see the docs hierarchy.

Offline jmccay

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 202
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2006, 01:37:19 am »
One question.  When setting up the cb variable what do you use?  I used:

based:
C:\development\projects\codeblock\codeblocks\src {src directory in my sandbox}

include:
C:\development\projects\codeblock\codeblocks\src\sdk

lib:
C:\development\projects\codeblock\codeblocks\src\devel

objs:
C:\development\projects\codeblock\codeblocks\src\.objs

Is this correct?  Also, could the above lib directory be done:
<base>\devel

If not, what about just \devel for the short?

jmccay
OS: WinXP, Win98 SE, & sometimes Linux

a little light reading from the wxWidgets 2.6.2 readme: A detailed 2000-page reference manual is supplied in HTML, PDF and Windows Help form: see the docs hierarchy.

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2778
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #17 on: January 12, 2006, 02:25:03 am »
If you're talking about Settings->Global variables
I set cb  to:
Code
C:\.....\trunk\src

and wx to
Code
C:\......\wxWidgets262
leaving the rest blank. They take care of themselves.

If you set those global variables to the correct directories,
all other info needed is in the .cbp files.
Open 'em build 'em, have a beer.
Dont forget to build the contrib.workspace. And dont
forget to delete .dll(s) that are not built by the contrib from
...\trunk\src\devel\share\CodeBlocks\plugins\ and
...\trunk\src\devel\share\CodeBlocks\plugins\ if they exists.
Leaving local DLL(s) in there will cause the same problems as
discussed above.

Then I run update.bat from the ....trunk\src directory

I then run \src\output\codeblocks.exe and it tells me
which wxWidget lib I'm missing.
I then copy the wxwidgets lib to the \src\output and
\src\devel directory

I then run \src\output\codeblocks.exe again, and it tells
me I'm missing the mingw lib. I do the copies for that.

On the next run, off I go.....

pecan
« Last Edit: January 12, 2006, 02:44:29 am by Pecan »

Offline jmccay

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 202
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #18 on: January 12, 2006, 02:56:07 am »
It seems to be compiling fine now.  I didn't remove all the Unicode references, and then I forgot to rebuild.  I think, if you do a rebuild, it cleans up all those dlls.  Some else out there whose more experienced compiling C::B, am I right?

Everything compiled and it seems to run fine.  Yipee!!!!  Thank you everyone.

jmccay
OS: WinXP, Win98 SE, & sometimes Linux

a little light reading from the wxWidgets 2.6.2 readme: A detailed 2000-page reference manual is supplied in HTML, PDF and Windows Help form: see the docs hierarchy.

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2778
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #19 on: January 12, 2006, 07:05:56 pm »
Doing a rebuild does *not* clean out local plugins
from the /devel and /output plugin directories.

I have to do it manually. Else I end up with previous
versioned plugins of cbDragScroll and other non
svn distributed (local/user) plugins.

It occasionally causes much consternation when I'm having
a senior moment.

pecan
 

Offline 280Z28

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 397
  • *insert unicode here*
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #20 on: January 12, 2006, 07:07:45 pm »
Doing a rebuild does *not* clean out local plugins
from the /devel and /output plugin directories.

I have to do it manually. Else I end up with previous
versioned plugins of cbDragScroll and other non
svn distributed (local/user) plugins.

It occasionally causes much consternation when I'm having
a senior moment.

pecan
 

I think that's the proper action -- only deleting files that were created by the specific target you are cleaning/rebuilding. But yes, you do have to be careful :)
78 280Z, "a few bolt-ons" - 12.71@109.04
99 Trans Am, "Daily Driver" - 525rwhp/475rwtq
 Check out The Sam Zone :cool:

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4315
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #21 on: January 12, 2006, 07:13:27 pm »
Hey all, don't you think it's about time to stop talking about irrelevant problems in this topic? It has reached 12 pages (!)...
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: Procedure entry point problem
« Reply #22 on: January 12, 2006, 07:19:49 pm »
Done, welcome to the troubleshooting forum! :lol: