Author Topic: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working  (Read 14248 times)

Offline n00b96

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« on: March 29, 2014, 12:58:31 am »
As my Username may suggest, I am a complete beginner when it comes to programming in C. I installed Code::Blocks and installed it, and I then went to Microsoft's site and downloaded Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 and installed that too. When I first opened Code::Blocks, it asked me which compiler I wanted to use, so I opened the drop-down menu and selected Microsoft Visual C++ 2010. Then I wrote a simple 'Hello World' program to try it out, but I quickly found out that:
Build > Build does nothing
Build > Compile Current File does nothing
Build > Run > Yes does nothing
Build > Run > No returns a blank window, and
Build > Build and Run does nothing.

I went back to Settings > Compiler..., and it told me that the compiler's installation directory was "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC". When I checked the Program Files folder myself, I found that there was no such folder. Should the directory listed in the Code::Blocks settings be different, or is the problem being caused by something else?

Additional Info:
OS: Windows Vista Home Basic w/ Sevice Pack 2
OS Type: 32-bit

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2014, 02:24:32 am »
Start reading this: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28errors%29#Q:_How_do_I_troubleshoot_a_compiler_problem.3F
Then search the wiki for instructions how to setup your compiler.
Have you tried the autodetect button in the Toolchain settings?
Have you tried the latest release of C::B?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline n00b96

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2014, 03:59:59 am »
Yes, I have used autodetect, it just brings up a message saying "Could not detect auto-installation path of 'Microsoft Visual C++'..."
I am using C::B v13.12.
As for that link, I'll get on it, thank you!

Offline n00b96

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2014, 04:07:21 am »
Okay, I followed the instructions on that link you gave me, now whenever I click build it gives me an error saying "Can't find compiler executable in you configured search path's for Microsoft Visual C++ compiler." So... that's some progress at least...

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2014, 04:10:55 am »
What is the folder for your "Microsoft Visual C++ 2010" installation?

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline n00b96

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2014, 04:59:02 am »
I can't find it... I've searched all over the hard drive, it doesn't seem to be anywhere...

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2014, 10:51:21 am »
Search for cl.exe. If you don't have it then you don't have c++ compiler installed.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline n00b96

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2014, 06:10:36 pm »
Uninstalled/reinstalled it twice, it's still not showing up.

Offline n00b96

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2014, 06:29:08 pm »
Okay, I think I have it working, now when I click Build I get an error saying

cl: Command line error D8003 : Missing source filename

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2014, 07:21:37 pm »
Okay, I think I have it working, now when I click Build I get an error saying

cl: Command line error D8003 : Missing source filename

Start reading this: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28errors%29#Q:_How_do_I_troubleshoot_a_compiler_problem.3F

If you fail to post a "build log" we will consider this thread solved.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline n00b96

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2014, 07:40:10 pm »
Here's the entire log, this is all I can get out of it:

Compiling: C:\Users\Sam\Desktop\hello.c
cl : Command line error D8003 : missing source filename
Process terminated with status 2 (0 minute(s), 0 second(s))
0 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 0 second(s))

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2014, 08:38:58 pm »
Here's the entire log, this is all I can get out of it:

Compiling: C:\Users\Sam\Desktop\hello.c
cl : Command line error D8003 : missing source filename
Process terminated with status 2 (0 minute(s), 0 second(s))
0 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 0 second(s))

Post the "Build Log" NOT the "message log"!

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline n00b96

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2014, 08:44:20 pm »
That IS the Log, the Message tab just says:

||=== Build failed: 0 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 0 second(s)) ===|
« Last Edit: March 29, 2014, 08:47:58 pm by n00b96 »

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 isn't working
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2014, 08:46:18 pm »
Then turn on full commandline logging, as described in the link given to you.