Author Topic: C Program compiles without headers?  (Read 5032 times)

Offline crisdorya

• Single posting newcomer
C Program compiles without headers?
« on: November 26, 2013, 07:32:34 pm »
Hello,

I am a student and use C::B in order to code C applications.
I found out recently that most of my apps weren`t working outside of my computer. I found out that I was not including all the Headers that I needed, like I could access strlen(); without including string.h, which is strange indeed!
So I decided to test something and this is what I wrote:

int main()
{
    printf("%d", strlen("That is bad!"));
    return 0;
}

It should give me errors, but it does not! It actually compiles and runs like a charm! The compiled exes do so too! (I used a File and under a Project)
I do not understand what settings are wrong, but I fear that most of my assignments would not compile on any other computer!

Could some one help me please with my anomaly? Thank you! 

PS: I once used a pointer in a wrong way, and it compiled, but it threw a error when compiling it at my lab.

Note: I use C::B 12.11 and the GCC compiler while at the lab we use C::B 10.50 I think...

Offline beqroson

• Multiple posting newcomer
Re: C Program compiles without headers?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2013, 07:49:59 pm »
Well, do you feel lonely, or why do you come to this forum? The answer to your question is that you are including the proper headers, I just do not know where. Since you did not format the code example properly and do not give the full view of the code.

Edit: Actually, if you use C, then the printf would be implicitly defined at the place of first reference.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2013, 07:58:15 pm by beqroson »

Offline crisdorya

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2013, 07:57:38 pm »
I come to this forum for help, that is why it`s the "Help" section now isn`t it?