Author Topic: Is there a way to get copy/cut/paste in the right click context menu?  (Read 14924 times)

Offline c_weed

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Is there a way to get copy/cut/paste in the right click context menu so you can move around text with the mouse? I'm using codeblocks 12.11 on Windows 7.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Is there a way to get copy/cut/paste in the right click context menu?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2013, 07:46:19 am »
It is there, under the submenu "Edit"...
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline marosknapcok

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
1.Would it be possible to give "copy/cut/paste" direct to context menu like it is in all the others editors (pspad, notepad++, sharpdevelop, eclipse, ...) and not keep it in "Edit" menu?

2.also displaying the whole path(up) by all opened files is not nice

3.and last one:after go to "find implementation/definition"
 to go back you must go to menu "View->Jump->Jump back" what is also not very nice

Is it possible to do something with it?

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3353
1.Would it be possible to give "copy/cut/paste" direct to context menu like it is in all the others editors (pspad, notepad++, sharpdevelop, eclipse, ...) and not keep it in "Edit" menu?

ctrl+c and ctrl+v is easier.... i don't know anybody who use the mouse to copy things....

2.also displaying the whole path(up) by all opened files is not nic
i think there is somewhere a setting for this in Settings->Enviroment or Settings->Editor...

3.and last one:after go to "find implementation/definition"
 to go back you must go to menu "View->Jump->Jump back" what is also not very nice
have you tried "alt+left arrow key" ?

greetings

Offline marosknapcok

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
I really do not understand why you are making such an effort to creating menus at all if everything can be don by keyboard?
I assume you are probably some linux guys don't you?

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
I really do not understand why you are making such an effort to creating menus at all if everything can be don by keyboard?
You've nailed it. The only purpose for the menus is to find what is the shortcut and never use them again  :P ;D
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline marosknapcok

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
I decide to make my own compilation on Windows 7  but after I gave source code "codeblocks-13.12\src" to "C:\Devel\CodeBlocks" folder and opened project file "C:\Devel\CodeBlocks\CodeBlocks.cbp" in "C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\codeblocks.exe" application (codeblocks-13.12mingw-setup.exe) and pushed "Build" I get following message:

||=== Build: tinyXML in Code::Blocks wx2.8.x (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
 (invalid)||No such file or directory|
||=== Build failed: 1 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 0 second(s)) ===|

Seems to be path problem but where?

« Last Edit: July 13, 2014, 01:42:48 pm by marosknapcok »

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Check the gloabal variable named "cb" and make sure it points to the root-folder of the C::B sources you want to use.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
I really do not understand why you are making such an effort to creating menus at all if everything can be don by keyboard?
You've nailed it. The only purpose for the menus is to find what is the shortcut and never use them again  :P ;D

I feel differently today; I sprained by left hand yesterday and using the mouse is much easier to do, today.

Tim S.
 
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline marosknapcok

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
"Check the gloabal variable named "cb" and make sure it points to the root-folder of the C::B sources you want to use."

I did it (in "Settings->Global variables...").
In "Global Variable Editor"
Current Set: default
Current Variable: cd
"base" C:\Devel\CodeBlocks
Other fields are empty
...and still the same error message.
Is there any other C:B version where it was already tested?

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: Is there a way to get copy/cut/paste in the right click context menu?
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2014, 09:07:07 pm »
"Check the gloabal variable named "cb" and make sure it points to the root-folder of the C::B sources you want to use."

I did it (in "Settings->Global variables...").
In "Global Variable Editor"
Current Set: default
Current Variable: cd
"base" C:\Devel\CodeBlocks
Other fields are empty
...and still the same error message.
Is there any other C:B version where it was already tested?

The above sounds wrong to me; does the folder "C:\Devel\CodeBlocks" have a sub folder of include and sdk?
Because if it does NOT; then it will not work as the cb base folder.

Tim S.

C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Is there a way to get copy/cut/paste in the right click context menu?
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2014, 09:55:50 pm »
Check also the "cb_release_type"-variable, it should either contain a valid compiler-flag, like "-g" for debug-build or at least a space (" "), it can not be empty, in this case it will automatically be set to "(invalid)" !

Offline marosknapcok

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Is there a way to get copy/cut/paste in the right click context menu?
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2014, 12:12:48 am »
Space helped, it started to compile but then it crushed on:
-----------------
||=== Build: tinyXML in Code::Blocks wx2.8.x (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
||=== Build: AutoRevision in Code::Blocks wx2.8.x (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
||=== Build: ConsoleRunner in Code::Blocks wx2.8.x (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
||=== Build: Squirrel in Code::Blocks wx2.8.x (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
||=== Build: Squirrel std lib in Code::Blocks wx2.8.x (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
||=== Build: SqPlus in Code::Blocks wx2.8.x (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
||=== Build: scintilla in Code::Blocks wx2.8.x (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler) ===|
C:\Devel\CodeBlocks\sdk\wxscintilla\src\PlatWX.cpp|8|fatal error: wx/wxprec.h: No such file or directory|
||=== Build failed: 1 error(s), 0 warning(s) (0 minute(s), 20 second(s)) ===|
-----------------
What should be the settings of "wx"?
I read somwhere that wxWidgets should be compilet separately or something.
I will look at it later.




Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline marosknapcok

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Is there a way to get copy/cut/paste in the right click context menu?
« Reply #14 on: July 14, 2014, 09:47:33 pm »
By compiling of wxWidget (wxMSW-2.8.12, on Windows 7, 32-bit) I get following:
-------------------------------------
ladvapi32 -lwsock32 -lodbc32
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 5 exit status
mingw32-make: *** [..\..\lib\gcc_dll\wxmsw28u_gcc_custom.dll] Error 1
Pokračujte stisknutím libovolné klávesy...
-------------------------------------
I will look at it later. I will make some break till I collect some psychic powers to continue.
My goat my goat this is amazing how nothing works in here.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2014, 09:56:39 pm by marosknapcok »