Author Topic: usability issue - code completion  (Read 5028 times)

Offline MK0151

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
usability issue - code completion
« on: January 12, 2013, 06:19:20 pm »
Hey guys,

first of all i realy like the code::blocks ide
but there is an annoying usability issue on the code completion

if you are typing something like "this->set" the result is maybe something like that:

getPara1()
getPara2()
getPara3()
getPara4()
getPara5()
setPara1()

you get 5 unwanted functions / vars and only the last (and the following) is interesting.

Regards
MK0151

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: usability issue - code completion
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2013, 07:51:38 pm »
you get 5 unwanted functions / vars and only the last (and the following) is interesting.
And how would you depict whats unwanted? Maybe another user want to actually use the first, second or...?!
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline MK0151

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: usability issue - code completion
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2013, 08:01:31 pm »
yeah but than have you typed it or?

Offline MK0151

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: usability issue - code completion
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2013, 08:11:04 pm »
result now:

i typ "this->set"

getPara1()  <-unwanted
getPara2()  <-unwanted
getPara3()  <-unwanted
getPara4()  <-unwanted
getPara5()  <-unwanted
setPara1()  <-wanted

better result:

setPara1()  <-wanted
setPara2()  <-wanted
setPara3()  <-wanted
setPara4()  <-wanted
setPara5()  <-wanted
setPara6()  <-wanted



Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: usability issue - code completion
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2013, 08:12:32 pm »
Can you provide simple self-contained example, which can be used to reproduce the issue?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline p2rkw

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 142
Re: usability issue - code completion
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2013, 09:53:55 pm »
@oBFusCATed: Autocomplete listbox is automatically opened when you type "this->" and it isn't refreshed anymore.

@MK0151: you have to hit ctrl+space to refresh list.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: usability issue - code completion
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2013, 10:02:10 pm »
@oBFusCATed: Autocomplete listbox is automatically opened when you type "this->" and it isn't refreshed anymore.
I know about this.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MK0151

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: usability issue - code completion
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2013, 11:33:54 pm »
hey
thx p2rkw work perfectly