Author Topic: "Permission Denied" windows 7 / ld.exe problem  (Read 7669 times)

c-hippy

"Permission Denied" windows 7 / ld.exe problem
« on: March 27, 2016, 07:17:30 pm »
Hello.  I'm new to code::blocks and the forum.  I tried to resurrect an old thread on this topic, but was forced to start a new thread instead. 

I've seen numerous people, mostly (if not all) from newbies experiencing an issue where ld.exe throws a "Permission denied" error.  Output file is the culprit.  It's always been blamed on Windows, from what I've read, but I think it's more likely a combination of how C::B and Windows play together.  I suspect the problem can be fixed in any case, from within the C::B code.

Anyone ever figure out the cause of this or a proper fix?  I'm having the same problem, though I never run antivirus or firewall on my computer.  I run as administrator ALL the time.  And the project files are all in my user/documents folder.  (Windows 7-64 Pro).

I'd like to add my 2 cents (observations).  Though, I don't know how it should be remedied or what software (or OS) is responsible.  Maybe someone here will be able to adequately shed some light on that.

To restate the problem:

Windows 7 (others?)
No Anti-virus
No Firewall
Copied "Hello World" console project from a popular tutorial
User is logged in as administrator
Project folder is in User/documents folder
UAC is turned off.
The output file process is NOT open in task manager

Steps to repeat error:

- Click "Build and run" button
- Program runs
- Exit program normally
- Console closes
- Make ANY change in the editor (Add a single letter to a remark, add a white space, insert a blank line... just about anything seems to work)
- Click "Build and run" button immediately