Author Topic: someone working on CDB debugger?  (Read 67527 times)

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #15 on: October 07, 2012, 10:28:16 am »
send me compile errors?....


||=== debugger_cdb, default ===|
C:\wxWidgets-2.8.12\include\wx\platform.h|196|error: wx/setup.h: No such file or directory|
[...]
||More errors follow but not being shown.|
||Edit the max errors limit in compiler options...|
||=== Build finished: 50 errors, 0 warnings ===|

Looks like a not build wxWidgets library (at least not for the parameters you use).

Offline Martin K.

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #16 on: October 08, 2012, 09:19:29 pm »
I have prepared a first version of the CDB Debugger plugin. Maybe someone is able to have a look on it.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ds1b5rr7ouhhvsl/debugger_cdb.zip
Have you though of putting it on github or something like this?

http://svn.code.sf.net/p/debuggercdb/code/trunk  ;)

Martin

I have a new update: Disassembly window and 64Bit CDB running 32 Bit Software works also.
shortly tested on rev 8442.

Martin

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #17 on: October 08, 2012, 10:29:54 pm »
Some suggestions:
1. don't use wxarray as it will hurt, search the forum for details
2. name your files with only lower case + underscores
3. try to follow (to some extent) the c::b coding guideline

2 and 3 are if you want the sources to be included in C::B in the future.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Martin K.

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #18 on: October 08, 2012, 11:47:34 pm »
Some suggestions:
1. don't use wxarray as it will hurt, search the forum for details
2. name your files with only lower case + underscores
3. try to follow (to some extent) the c::b coding guideline

2 and 3 are if you want the sources to be included in C::B in the future.

1. OK, i will have a look on it.
2. OK
3. ohh, there are coding guidelines? What is wrong with my code?

Martin

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #19 on: October 08, 2012, 11:55:00 pm »
send me compile errors?....


||=== debugger_cdb, default ===|
C:\wxWidgets-2.8.12\include\wx\platform.h|196|error: wx/setup.h: No such file or directory|
C:\wxWidgets-2.8.12\include\wx\chkconf.h|103|error: #error "wxUSE_DYNLIB_CLASS must be defined."|

C:\wxWidgets-2.8.12\include\wx\chkconf.h|562|error: #error "wxUSE_FONTPICKERCTRL must be defined."|
||More errors follow but not being shown.|
||Edit the max errors limit in compiler options...|
||=== Build finished: 50 errors, 0 warnings ===|

DO NOT TAKE OVER ANOTHER PERSON POST.

Read the Wiki page
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=WxWindowsQuickRef

Tim S.
« Last Edit: October 09, 2012, 12:32:32 am by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline Alpha

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #20 on: October 08, 2012, 11:57:18 pm »
3. ohh, there are coding guidelines? What is wrong with my code?
I have not looked at your code, but see Coding style for how Code::Blocks (mostly) does it.

Offline Martin K.

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #21 on: October 09, 2012, 06:02:23 am »
3. ohh, there are coding guidelines? What is wrong with my code?
I have not looked at your code, but see Coding style for how Code::Blocks (mostly) does it.

Thank you for the link, but i currently can't see the big problem with my code.

Martin

Offline Martin K.

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #22 on: October 09, 2012, 06:42:12 pm »
a new one:

renamed every file to lowercase
reformated the source with astyle
everything is in namespace now (except the plugin itself)
renamed a few class variables
changes the wxarray to stl::dqueue
breakpoint enable/disable and delete

is there someone looking on or should i stop the announcements?

Martin

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #23 on: October 09, 2012, 07:58:55 pm »
is there someone looking on or should i stop the announcements?
Keep 'em coming.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Martin K.

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #24 on: October 10, 2012, 09:33:47 pm »
is there someone looking on or should i stop the announcements?
Keep 'em coming.

OK, rev 8:
Runto cursor
Visual C++ 6 support
more documentation

Martin

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #25 on: October 11, 2012, 09:20:38 am »
Visual C++ 6 support
BTW, it has been some time I was using VS and the CDB debugger. It seems its now integrated in the Windows platform SDK but one can extract it easily from there. What version(s) are you using for your trials? One of these:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/hardware/gg463041.aspx
???
It would be nice if you could clarify... especially, what's different to VC6? From my understanding, the CDB interface should be the same for debugging VC6 or any other VC version files, isn't it?
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Martin K.

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #26 on: October 11, 2012, 10:09:38 am »
Visual C++ 6 support
BTW, it has been some time I was using VS and the CDB debugger. It seems its now integrated in the Windows platform SDK but one can extract it easily from there. What version(s) are you using for your trials? One of these:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/hardware/gg463041.aspx
???
It would be nice if you could clarify... especially, what's different to VC6? From my understanding, the CDB interface should be the same for debugging VC6 or any other VC version files, isn't it?

I am using CDB from different sources. I have one from the MSDN link above and one from the current WinDDK.
Generally, CDB handels all VC version the same way. I can use a 32 Bit CDB to debug every 32 Bit application build with a VC compiler and i can use the 64 Bit CDB to debug 32 and 64 bit applications. The difference between 32 and 64 Bit is the debugger prompt. The 64 Bit Debugger tells me at the prompt that my debuggee runs under the x86 environment.

The difference between the old VC6 compiler and never versions is the symbol table of the debuggee. The VS2010 compiler for example seems to use only absolute pathnames for the symbols (c:\project\test\main.c), the vc6 compiler uses relative paths (main.c) also and so the Debugger tells me different informations about source positions on a breakpoint hit.

Martin

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #27 on: October 11, 2012, 11:29:58 am »
also and so the Debugger tells me different informations about source positions on a breakpoint hit.
Too bad. Well think about how much time you invest in supporting this aged compiler than... it may not be worth it. I see more and more projects dropping support for this compiler already.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Martin K.

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #28 on: October 11, 2012, 02:11:24 pm »
OK,

one question to the debugger professionals:

Wich sense makes the function ShiftBreakpoint?
When the debuggee runs and there are breakpoints set, then an open editor windows calls this function for all breakpoints affected by a sourceline change (insert or delete lines). So it should move breakpoints to the new position. When i handle this function, the breakpoints view and the marker in the editor are moving too. Very nice. But the source ist out of sync with the symbol table of the debuggee. It makes no sense to send the new breakpoint position to the debugger (as the old Debugger_GDB does). And when i remember this changes internally in the breakpoint list, then i'm able to correct positions on debugger stops while hitting breakpoints. But i can't correct any position when the sourcecode changes while debugging without an breakpoint set, so this makes no sense to me. Any Ideas?

Martin

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: someone working on CDB debugger?
« Reply #29 on: October 11, 2012, 05:48:35 pm »
Any Ideas?
Hopefully oBFusCATed can say something more detailed about this, but weren't there just with the last commits some changes accordingly to fix a  (similar/same) wrong behaviour accordingly? Are your sources in sync with trunk?
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ