Author Topic: Compiler plugin for nvcc compiler?  (Read 15474 times)

Offline Mark Knecht

• Single posting newcomer
Compiler plugin for nvcc compiler?
« on: February 07, 2011, 07:05:11 pm »
Hi,
   First post here. I'm a complete newbie programmer, an old retired guy just looking to keep my brain alive. I got interested in CUDA & C++ to solve some problems. I run Gentoo Linux, wrote some simple programs using vi and then compiling by hand using nvcc. The code has gotten much larger and now I'm looking for an IDE that I'd feel comfortable using day to day. Code::Blocks looks quite nice.

My _immediate_ problems to solve (I currently think I have 2) are pretty simple, I think.

1) Have C::B understand that *.cu is a CUDA C++ source file
2) Have *.cu files be compiled using nvcc

There are other things, like CUDA lexicon coloring, etc., but I'm not looking for that right now. I just need to get through the program/compile/execute loop a few times with C::B to see if I like it.

PROBLEMS:

1) If I add a new *.cu file to a project Code::Blocks seems place it under 'Other', not 'Sources'. Can I change this so that the program understands *.cu file are source? If I let C::B call it a *.cpp file can I rename it *.cu?

2) From the C::B FAQ:
Q: What compiler can I use with Code::Blocks?

A: Code::Blocks philosophy is to be able to use any compiler on earth! Well, almost.

As a matter of fact it largely depends on the used compiler plugin. Some provided with the default Code::Blocks installation are GNU GCC (MinGW/Cygwin), MS Visual C++ Free Toolkit 2003, Borland's C++ Compiler 5.5, DigitalMars Free Compiler., OpenWatcom, Small Device C Compiler (SDCC) and others.

OK, my nvcc compiler isn't in the list right now as it's not part of the standard compiler plugin? Can it be added? Is that difficult? Can I do that myself, or does it require a developer to add it. There are required compiler options (for instance: -arch) so those would need to be supported.