Author Topic: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks  (Read 69113 times)

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« on: March 16, 2012, 07:29:15 am »
I’m hosting a read-only mirror of Code::Blocks repo on my server. This will give read-only access to everyone. I’m also hosting a read-only Git repo. This will give us access to Git repo to everyone who loves Git (including myself).

You can check out source via svn by issuing the following command-
Code
svn checkout svn://cb.biplab.in/codeblocks/trunk

You can browse svn repo using WebSVN interface at the following url-
Quote
http://cb.biplab.in/websvn/

You can clone git repo by issuing following command-
Code
git clone git://cb.biplab.in/codeblocks.git

You can browse git repo, download source tarball at the following url-
Quote
http://cb.biplab.in/cgit/

These repos are refreshed every 30 minutes. So if you find that my repo is not updated, then try again after sometime.

If you face any issue accessing any repo, please let me know.
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline LETARTARE

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 531
  • L'ami de l'homme.The friend of man.
    • LETARTARE
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2012, 09:48:37 am »
@Biplab
Well thank you for this new link.
I just downloaded in 'SVN' and everything went well.
good day
CB-13483, plugins-sdk-2.25.0 : Collector-2.0.0, AddOnForQt-3.9.1
1-Win7 Business Pack1 64bits : wx-3.2.4, gcc-8.1.0,
2-OpenSuse::Leap-15.4-64bits : wx-3.2.4;gtk3, gcc-8.2.1,
=> !! The messages are translated by Deepl

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5913
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2012, 04:47:46 am »
@biplab
Your site is down???

EDIT: It works OK now.
« Last Edit: June 07, 2012, 09:23:42 am by ollydbg »
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2012, 05:59:24 pm »
@biplab
Your site is down???

EDIT: It works OK now.

@ollydbg,

I noticed your post very late.

Yes, server went down couple of times this month. The last one happened yesterday. On all occasions it was hard reboots which crashed my server. Sometimes I receive server reboot notification mid night or when I'm at work; this prolongs server downtime.

I'm keeping an eye on the situation and may move it to a different host if situation deteriorates.

Please feel free to PM me if you notice it down. :)
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5913
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2013, 03:10:00 am »
Hi, Biplab, is it possible the GIT synchonize the SVN log message change such as the one I did in
http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,17574.msg121792.html#msg121792
Thanks
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2013, 03:24:44 am »
Hi, Biplab, is it possible the GIT synchonize the SVN log message change such as the one I did in
http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,17574.msg121792.html#msg121792
Thanks

It may be possible. I'll do it later today. :)
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2013, 09:41:44 am »
It may be possible. I'll do it later today. :)
But this will mean that you'll change the history, which is not a good practice and causes lots of pain.  ::)
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2013, 03:18:42 pm »
But this will mean that you'll change the history, which is not a good practice and causes lots of pain.  ::)
I love to rewrite history. ;D

Hi, Biplab, is it possible the GIT synchonize the SVN log message change such as the one I did in
http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,17574.msg121792.html#msg121792
Thanks
SF repo still shows your old commit message. No changes were made to that. As a mirror I'll leave the commit message same as source. :)
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5913
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2013, 04:08:20 pm »

Hi, Biplab, is it possible the GIT synchonize the SVN log message change such as the one I did in
http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,17574.msg121792.html#msg121792
Thanks
SF repo still shows your old commit message. No changes were made to that. As a mirror I'll leave the commit message same as source. :)
Yes, I do see the SF repo still have old messages
http://sourceforge.net/p/codeblocks/code/8855/log/?path=
But my local svn log was changed, see screen shot below:


Question: I can edit the log message by TortoiseSVN, after that, do I need to do any thing like run a commit? Actually I did not run any commit after changing the log message.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2013, 05:30:49 pm »
Question: I can edit the log message by TortoiseSVN, after that, do I need to do any thing like run a commit? Actually I did not run any commit after changing the log message.

Do you have appropriate access to repo? AFAIK, you need special access to change commit log.
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5913
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2013, 01:51:20 am »
Do you have appropriate access to repo? AFAIK, you need special access to change commit log.
I don't have special access, just normal developer R/W access to SF repo.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2013, 06:26:53 am »
If I understand it correcty, the change of the log-entry is in fact a property change.
ANd such changes have normally to be committed explicitely.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5913
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #12 on: April 17, 2013, 07:01:17 am »
If I understand it correcty, the change of the log-entry is in fact a property change.
ANd such changes have normally to be committed explicitely.
Thanks, but currently I don't find any option in TortoiseSVN that let me commit such property change. :)
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2013, 07:36:52 am »
Do you have appropriate access to repo? AFAIK, you need special access to change commit log.
Nope, not at all. I've setup a general hook that does not depend on user rights (although it would be possible to do that, too).

Also, a log change does not require an explicit commit - its done directly.

BUT: Your SVN software needs to re-cache the log messages. As these are usually stored locally to save bandwidth, you need to ensure they get re-freshed. For me this is done automatically, for TortoiseSVN this may not be the case. The easiest (but brute-force) way would be do delete the SVN log cache for the particular repo. Then it will be re-built completely.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2013, 09:57:37 am »
Also, a log change does not require an explicit commit - its done directly.
And it my opinion this is the reason this feature should be disabled. A person can destroy the history and we won't know about it. Good luck in restoring it back.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]