Author Topic: Getting rid of TAB and backspace  (Read 6762 times)

Kayl

Getting rid of TAB and backspace
« on: December 08, 2005, 10:03:51 pm »
Hello everyone,

I hope this is the right place for that kind of question.

I would like to be forced to use one kind of indentation (like ANSI) and not be able to use my tab key.
The plugin AStyle is able to show me where I should ident but I don't want to have the choice.

I would like indentation to be automatic and transparent (I should not be able to change things) meaning the code I type is necessary, identation is just a for better reading and shouldn't use special characters for it.

So, is there any plugin or thing I can do in my code::blocks ? (I'm new in it).

Offline Michael

• Lives here!
Re: Getting rid of TAB and backspace
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2005, 11:07:21 am »
I would like to be forced to use one kind of indentation (like ANSI) and not be able to use my tab key.
The plugin AStyle is able to show me where I should ident but I don't want to have the choice.

I would like indentation to be automatic and transparent (I should not be able to change things) meaning the code I type is necessary, identation is just a for better reading and shouldn't use special characters for it.

I am not sure to understand. You would like the indentation to be fully automatic, so that when you type your code, this will be automatically formatted? And that you cannot modify this formatting later?

IMHO, I am not sure that it would be a good idea. Even if the AStyle plugin formats automatically my source code, I still prefer to have the possibility to modify the indentation (if I judge necessary).

May be you can add a new option to the AStyle plugin that disable the use of TAB.

Michael

takeshimiya

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2005, 11:12:33 am »
I think what Kayl wants is in Settings->Editor->General->TAB options.

Kayl

« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2005, 11:27:30 am »