Author Topic: breakpoints do not work-tried usual solutions  (Read 5167 times)

Offline yaelglo

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
breakpoints do not work-tried usual solutions
« on: November 30, 2011, 10:58:13 pm »
I had an old (about 2 year old) version of codeblocs, and up until about six months ago everything worked fine. then I took a break from programming, and now, when I started again, the debugger refuses to recognize breakpoints. I thought it was a version problem, so I downloaded 10.05 version. it has the same problem. the project is built on debug, the -s thing is not checked, the -g thing is, but still, it doesnt work. I tried copy pasting it to a new project as well.
I have a 64bit win7
please help me.
I have home assignments and I cant do them.

thank you.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: breakpoints do not work-tried usual solutions
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2011, 11:00:17 pm »
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline yaelglo

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: breakpoints do not work-tried usual solutions
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2011, 11:04:00 pm »
yes, I did. I know how to debug. the exception situation listed there, however, are not clear to me. I have no idea if any of them applies to me.

Offline yaelglo

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: breakpoints do not work-tried usual solutions
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2011, 11:09:47 pm »
for exabple, the whole 32cdb for 23bit and 46cdb for 64bit, I  have no idea how am I supposed to even chack that. I just downloaded a new version, to the there should be no version problems though.
long story short, I'm confused.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: breakpoints do not work-tried usual solutions
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2011, 11:18:32 pm »
So, what is the debugger you are using?
Answering this question will help you understand many things.

Then you can enable the debugger's debug log (Settings->Compiler & Debugger -> Debugger->Debugger's debug log).
And then you can inspect it for some errors, which can give you a clue, what is happening.

If you don't find the problem you can paste the log here (using code tags) and we could try to help you.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline yaelglo

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: breakpoints do not work-tried usual solutions
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2011, 11:40:20 pm »
I dont know what debuggerI'm using. how can I check that?

as for the log, here it is:
Code
Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
Build succeeded
Selecting target:
Debug
Adding source dir: C:\Users\יעל\Desktop\barilan\targ222\
Adding source dir: C:\Users\יעל\Desktop\barilan\targ222\
Adding file: bin\Debug\targ222.exe
Starting debugger:
done
Registered new type: wxString
Registered new type: STL String
Registered new type: STL Vector
Setting breakpoints
Debugger name and version: GNU gdb 6.7.50.20071127
Warning: C:/Users/׳™׳¢׳œ/Desktop/barilan/targ222: No such file or directory.
Child process PID: 5940
Program exited normally.
Debugger finished with status 0

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: breakpoints do not work-tried usual solutions
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2011, 11:44:38 pm »
No, this is the standard log. I was talking about the debugger's debug log. It is not enabled by default and I've given you a hint how to enable it.

To check the debugger you go to you compiler -> toolchain executable and then look what is the value of the debugger field.

p.s.
Are you reading the logs you're posing?
I guess not, because this one clearly states the debugger and it's version:
Code
Debugger name and version: GNU gdb 6.7.50.20071127

p.p.s.
Also this is the reason why breakpoints doesn't work
Code
Warning: C:/Users/׳™׳¢׳œ/Desktop/barilan/targ222: No such file or directory.

Now go and re-read the notes section it explains everything you should do!


« Last Edit: November 30, 2011, 11:47:44 pm by oBFusCATed »
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline yaelglo

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: breakpoints do not work-tried usual solutions
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2011, 11:53:56 pm »
oh ^-^' sorry, its the first time I'm looking at a log like that. I didnt know what to look for.
but, the special characters in the path are supposed to be hebrew characters. its the name of the computer user. I've been using codeblocks for over a year and it didnt give me any problems before now. the path was the same path and the debugger worked just fine. anyway, I cant create a path without the computer user's name in it. is there a way to make hebrew competible, or bypass that?

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: breakpoints do not work-tried usual solutions
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2011, 01:18:37 am »
It is not the computer name, but the username, so I guess you can change it to be all ASCII letters.
Also you can try to make a directory in c:\ directly, but I'm not sure about the permission, I'm a linux guy and can't help you here.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline yaelglo

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: breakpoints do not work-tried usual solutions
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2011, 08:16:06 am »
well, I tried to put it in my D:\ directory and it works from there. I have no idea how that worked from the old path for a whole year, and why it stopped, but I managed to bypass.
thank you for the help!! :)