Author Topic: Cyrillic identifiers  (Read 11787 times)

Offline petko10

• Single posting newcomer
Cyrillic identifiers
« on: October 07, 2011, 05:55:22 pm »
 Hey , I'm a bulgarian programmer and want to use my own language here and there when programming  but that often doesn't look good with the latin alphabet , so does anyone know how to configure C::B and GNU-GCC to work with Unicode (or something like that that would solve my problem) ?

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
Re: Cyrillic identifiers
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2011, 06:08:17 pm »
It is impossible. C/C++ is meant to work only with ASCII.
If you want to write code in Cyrillic, you'll have to switch to Java or something modern.
Keep in mind that having non ASCII chars even in the comments is not recommended,
because different OSes use different encodings most of the time.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline thomas

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2011, 07:08:56 pm »
Well, both Code::Blocks and GCC do support UTF-8 as it happens. For GCC, that is even the default encoding. So, all you really need to do is to make UTF-8 the default encoding in the Editor settings ("Other settings" tab).

Which, at the risk of repeating myself, should be the default setting for everyone, since if you use any other encoding, it's no surprise if GCC throws up (as Code::Blocks does not do -finput-charset).
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline petko10

« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2011, 05:37:48 pm »