Author Topic: Installing SQLite into Code::Blocks (Static Library)  (Read 10415 times)

Offline dominover

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Installing SQLite into Code::Blocks (Static Library)
« on: October 01, 2012, 04:16:01 pm »
Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction.  I would like to install SQLite into Code::Blocks (the static library, not the DLL), pardon the newbie terminology. 

Would like to compile it myself and incorporate it into Code::Blocks. 

Thanks  ???

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Installing SQLite into Code::Blocks (Static Library)
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2012, 04:51:47 pm »
Your question makes no sense to me.
Define what you mean by incorporate or install into Code::Blocks!!!
NOTE: Code::Blocks is NOT a compiler or linker; it is a Code Editor/IDE.


I suggest reading the CB FAQs and re-writing your question.

http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

You might also read how to ask a smart question.
http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Tim S.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2012, 04:53:20 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline cacb

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
Re: Installing SQLite into Code::Blocks (Static Library)
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2012, 11:32:28 pm »
Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction.  I would like to install SQLite into Code::Blocks (the static library, not the DLL), pardon the newbie terminology. 

Would like to compile it myself and incorporate it into Code::Blocks. 

Thanks  ???

You probably mean to use SQLite as a static library and refer to it from your projects. That's easy.

Create a static library project called SQLite (or whatever), include the sqlite source files in the project (only one really), and compile. Link the generated library from other projects to use SQLite.


Offline dominover

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Installing SQLite into Code::Blocks (Static Library)
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2012, 12:37:39 am »
Thanks cacb.  That sounds like what I need to do.  My understanding of these matters is a little limited at this time but I'm learning (hence the wording of the question).  I thought that you actually had to install Sqlite into an IDE so I can integrate it into my projects, but I may be thinking of this in terms of some of the plug-ins available.   I'll do as you've mentioned.

Stahta...  I believe I've aknowledged that this is a newbie question and my understanding isn't as good as it could be at this time but I'm slowly understanding this.   If my question doesn't make sense to an expert in this kind of thing then I'm just on the wrong track.  There's no way to ask a smart question when your are cloudy on the facts.  Believe me I've read allot about this and have tried to understand the requirements. 

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Installing SQLite into Code::Blocks (Static Library)
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2012, 01:21:49 am »
Stahta...  I believe I've aknowledged that this is a newbie question and my understanding isn't as good as it could be at this time but I'm slowly understanding this.   If my question doesn't make sense to an expert in this kind of thing then I'm just on the wrong track.  There's no way to ask a smart question when your are cloudy on the facts.  Believe me I've read allot about this and have tried to understand the requirements. 

Did you read the CB FAQs?

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org