Author Topic: Will build but will not run.  (Read 4060 times)

Offline ediscoolyo

• Single posting newcomer
Will build but will not run.
« on: February 17, 2011, 05:23:05 am »
I am new to Codeblocks and C++. I am trying to run my first helloworld program. When I click build, I get this message in the build log: "Target is up to date. Nothing to be done". When I click run, nothing happens. The only way for me to run the program is through the debugger. Is that the way its supposed to be?

Offline Pecan

• Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
Re: Will build but will not run.
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2011, 02:48:15 pm »
What is your OS? What version of CB did you install?
What compiler are you using?

Read this: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ#Q:_How_do_I_troubleshoot_an_compiler_problem.3F

Turn on full logging (above link) and past the results withing a
code tag (by clicking the # symbol above the forum edit window)
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 02:51:04 pm by Pecan »

Offline ediscoolyo

« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2011, 11:21:49 pm »
Thanks for the response. I'm using Windows XP with CB 10.05. I installed MinGW but my selected compiler is Microsoft Visual C++ 2005/2008(which I do not have) because I used reset defaults, and thats the only one that works. I have full command line selected under compiler logging. Other than the debugger, I don't see anything logged.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2011, 02:10:53 am by ediscoolyo »

Offline Pecan

• Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2011, 02:31:15 pm »
Thanks for the response. I'm using Windows XP with CB 10.05. I installed MinGW but my selected compiler is Microsoft Visual C++ 2005/2008(which I do not have) because I used reset defaults, and thats the only one that works. I have full command line selected under compiler logging. Other than the debugger, I don't see anything logged.