Author Topic: Immediate Window?  (Read 5154 times)

Offline jleach

• Single posting newcomer
Immediate Window?
« on: October 22, 2010, 04:06:07 pm »
Hi all, TIA for any insight.  I tried searching but wasn't able to find what it was (I don't quite know what it's called).

In my VB IDE I have an Immediate Window... I can type an expression and get an answer...

-------
?1+2
-------

It's very limited to what can actually be done, but quite helpful in a lot of cases.

I'm very new to C++ but have found CB to be my favorite of the various IDE's that I've tried...  is there a similar functionality?  For instance, if I wanted to know what the ASCII value of "b" is, I might check it like so:

-------
?int("B")
-------

Many thanks if someone could advise.  As an alternative, I'm considering keeping a file open just to run quick checks like this in main() and output to the console, but it would be great if there's builtin functionality.

Cheers!
Jack

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
Re: Immediate Window?
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2010, 04:59:18 pm »
C++ is compiled language most of the time (there is a c++ script interpreter (probably more than one)  - ask your search engine where to find it).
In its compiled form, C++ doesn't support what you want and what you've used to in the VB land.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline jleach

« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2010, 05:09:42 pm »
Thanks oBFusCATed, I took a quick look at script interpreters but it doesn't seem to be what I was hoping for either.  I'll take your word that I won't find this particular functionality in C programming.

cheers,

Offline jleach

« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2010, 05:31:21 pm »