Author Topic: Code::Blocks and QNX?  (Read 9456 times)

Offline cacb

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
Code::Blocks and QNX?
« on: September 16, 2010, 01:38:46 pm »
Hi,

Apologies if this is not the right place, but it is my best judgement. I have searched for QNX in the forum but found no hits.

My question is: If I need to develop software for QNX, can I use Code::Blocks? Any pointers would be welcome. I am using Code::Blocks for Windows and Linux at the moment and I am ver happy with it. Extending this to QNX would be tempting.

Thanks.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Code::Blocks and QNX?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2010, 01:59:16 pm »
1. If there is port of wxWidget, probably you could compile CB for it, probably some things won't work though
2. If you have a cross compiler you can use it with codeblocks
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Code::Blocks and QNX?
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2010, 04:52:22 pm »
My question is: If I need to develop software for QNX, can I use Code::Blocks?
I've done it in the past successfully. You need to:
- make a copy of the GCC compiler
- point to the QNX tool chain path and relevant tools (e.g. qcc.exe instead of gcc.exe)
- set the compiler's include/library path's accordingly
- make sure the environment variables the QNX compiler expects are set accordingly (this was done by the QNX installer in the past... one was named "QNX_HOST" for example).

However, this might have been changed meanwhile.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline cacb

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
Re: Code::Blocks and QNX?
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2010, 11:30:59 pm »
I've done it in the past successfully. You need to:
- make a copy of the GCC compiler
- point to the QNX tool chain path and relevant tools (e.g. qcc.exe instead of gcc.exe)
- set the compiler's include/library path's accordingly
- make sure the environment variables the QNX compiler expects are set accordingly (this was done by the QNX installer in the past... one was named "QNX_HOST" for example).

However, this might have been changed meanwhile.

Ok, thanks. That makes sense. If we had wxWidgets for QNX it would even be even better.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Code::Blocks and QNX?
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2010, 09:07:48 pm »
Ok, thanks. That makes sense. If we had wxWidgets for QNX it would even be even better.
There are chances that it might compile for this platform. Did you try?
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline cacb

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
Re: Code::Blocks and QNX?
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2010, 04:14:39 pm »
Ok, thanks. That makes sense. If we had wxWidgets for QNX it would even be even better.
There are chances that it might compile for this platform. Did you try?

Not really. From my web research the chances seemed pretty slim.
http://groups.google.com/group/wx-users/browse_thread/thread/e4bbb2ebf7f6788e/c974d8e8cf1d02f2?#c974d8e8cf1d02f2

Maybe I was giving up too fast?

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: Code::Blocks and QNX?
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2010, 04:51:46 pm »
http://www.wxwidgets.org/docs/embedded.htm#wxmgl

Note: Code::Blocks only runs on wxGTK and wxMSW at the current time.

Tim S.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2010, 06:57:17 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline cacb

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
Re: Code::Blocks and QNX?
« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2010, 02:51:23 pm »
http://www.wxwidgets.org/docs/embedded.htm#wxmgl

Note: Code::Blocks only runs on wxGTK and wxMSW at the current time.

Tim S.

I had a look at that. I downloaded wxWidgets from SVN and read the docs/mgl/install.txt. The first thing it talks about is that you need to download "SciTech MGL library" version 5.0beta7 or newer from http://www.scitechsoft.com/products/dev/wx_mgl_home.html, but that whole site appears to be history. So I am stuck, unless it is available elsewhere (I can't seem to find it with Google).

The fact that Code::Blocks only runs on wxGTK and wxMSW at the current time is not a problem. Even the Eclipse-based "Momentics IDE" that is available from QNX requires Windows or Linux, you cannot use it natively under QNX.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Code::Blocks and QNX?
« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2010, 03:04:32 pm »
Even the Eclipse-based "Momentics IDE" that is available from QNX requires Windows or Linux, you cannot use it natively under QNX.
Yes, but why would you dod that? I mean: Usually QNX is used for embedded devices, so the QNX runtime on these devices is very small and there is no need to have a whole UI or even IDE on it. That's why you have Momentics - it's very well usable as cross-platform IDE.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline cacb

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
Re: Code::Blocks and QNX?
« Reply #9 on: October 03, 2010, 03:19:10 pm »
Yes, but why would you dod that? I mean: Usually QNX is used for embedded devices, so the QNX runtime on these devices is very small and there is no need to have a whole UI or even IDE on it. That's why you have Momentics - it's very well usable as cross-platform IDE.
Agreed. I just commented on the fact that Code::Blocks required wxMSW or wxGTK and noted that this was similar to the Momentics requirements.

I could use either (Code::Blocks preferred). The scenario considered is perhaps using QNX as a secure/error safe OS more than its ability to run on really small devices. So if wxWidgets could be compiled for QNX and allow me to write programs with or without GUI it would be nice.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Code::Blocks and QNX?
« Reply #10 on: October 03, 2010, 03:49:28 pm »
So if wxWidgets could be compiled for QNX and allow me to write programs with or without GUI it would be nice.
True. I would be interested in it, too. However, I am not using QNX anymore and don't have access to it.

BTW: Be came off-topic for this forum. It's no-longer C::B related. To avoid violating our own forum rules you probably should better switch to a wxWidgets forum (e.g. http://wxforum.shadonet.com) and ask there. If you want to, you can send me a link so I can follow the discussion there.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ