Author Topic: I can compile DLLs but can't used them back in a project  (Read 2462 times)

naton

I can compile DLLs but can't used them back in a project
« on: September 16, 2010, 02:12:40 pm »
Code::Blocks 10.05

I'm a hobbist programmer, and I'm relatively new to C++. I started with Dev-CPP sometimes ago. Although I was able to write small programs with it I couldn't get its debugger to stop at breakpoints. I discovered Code::Blocks by accident and I like it. Its intellisense feature is a lot faster than the one in Dev-CPP and I don't have any trouble with breakpoints.

I spent almost a week trying to get some DLLs I wrote and compiled with Code::Blocks to work in Code::Blocks but I failed. Even the code generated by Code::Blocks template DLL (accessible through File -> New -> Project -> Projects -> Dynamic Link Library) doesn't work. It complies fine but when I link it to another project, Code::Blocks' linker generates an error. Below is the code for test.h and test.cpp:

(TEST.H)
Code
#ifndef __TEST_H__
#define __TEST_H__

#include <windows.h>

/*  To use this exported function of dll, include this header
 *  in your project.
 */

#ifdef BUILD_DLL
    #define DLL_EXPORT __declspec(dllexport)
#else
    #define DLL_EXPORT __declspec(dllimport)
#endif

#ifdef __cplusplus
extern "C"
{
#endif

void DLL_EXPORT SomeFunction(const LPCSTR sometext);

#ifdef __cplusplus
}
#endif

#endif // __TEST_H__

(TEST.CPP)
Code
#include "test.h"
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

// a sample exported function
void DLL_EXPORT SomeFunction(const LPCSTR sometext)
{
    MessageBoxA(0, sometext, "DLL Message", MB_OK | MB_ICONINFORMATION);
}

BOOL WINAPI DllMain(HINSTANCE hinstDLL, DWORD fdwReason, LPVOID lpvReserved)
{
    switch (fdwReason)
    {
        case DLL_PROCESS_ATTACH:
            // attach to process
            // return FALSE to fail DLL load
            break;

case DLL_PROCESS_DETACH:
            // detach from process
            break;

case DLL_THREAD_ATTACH: