Author Topic: How to use Cscope  (Read 12259 times)

Offline mmccarty12

• Multiple posting newcomer
How to use Cscope
« on: July 20, 2010, 05:41:15 pm »
I think it is great that individuals are creating more and more add-ons to use with Code::Blocks.  I have been using Code::Blocks for 3 years now.  One thing I have noticed is that instructions/descriptions of the add-ons has been very lacking and it is getting frustrating.

I have checked up on Cscope and the other add-ons and can find documentation on how to use them either from the command line or from their given GUIs.  But, what I cannot find it how to use them in Code::Blocks. 
I have found that when you highlight a variable/function name and right click, more menu options come up.  But when I select either Find functions called by <name> or Find functions calling <name>, I get nothing in the Cscope panel. 
Where is the command that sets up the initial database for C::B::Cscope to work properly?  I have been through every menu and right click option I can find.

Can someone clear this up for all of us not in the know?

Offline Jenna

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: How to use Cscope
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2010, 07:30:05 pm »
Do you have cscope installed ?
The plugin only makes use of the executable.

On linux you can use your favourite package manager to install it, on windows you should use a search-engine to find it's home page.

Offline mmccarty12

« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2010, 07:32:39 pm »
jens,

I do have Cscope installed in Code::Blocks.  The instructions on the internet I have found for Cscope discuss how to use it from the command line, not how to use it in C::B.  I would like to know how to use it from the C::B interface.  Are there instructions on how to do that?

Offline Jenna

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2010, 07:36:03 pm »
I know that you have installed it in C::B, otherwise you would not be able to see the new menu-entries.