Author Topic: The same shortcut for "Start Debug" and "Continue Debug"  (Read 5194 times)

Chuck

  • Guest
The same shortcut for "Start Debug" and "Continue Debug"
« on: July 16, 2010, 11:25:07 am »
Hello everyone,

I am currently using Code::Blocks, because the current build of VS 2010 is cumbersome. First of all thanks for this nice IDE.

There is only one thing which is a little bit annoying. The fact is that Code::Blocks treats "Start Debug" and "Continue Debug" as two separate things. And unfortunately one can't assign twice the same shortcut. I manually edited the shortcut definition file, the menu entries showed the same shortcut, Code::Block started debugging but didn't continue it.

Is there any workaround?

Sven

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5913
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: The same shortcut for "Start Debug" and "Continue Debug"
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2010, 03:44:02 pm »
Yes, I personally there should be only one short-cut key for the two functions. Can we implement that? or it is already exist in debugger_branch?

If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: The same shortcut for "Start Debug" and "Continue Debug"
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2010, 03:52:32 pm »
It is not implemented...
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ndk

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: The same shortcut for "Start Debug" and "Continue Debug"
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2010, 09:34:05 am »
Yes, I personally there should be only one short-cut key for the two functions. Can we implement that? or it is already exist in debugger_branch?

See attach

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5913
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: The same shortcut for "Start Debug" and "Continue Debug"
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2010, 09:36:47 am »
Yes, I personally there should be only one short-cut key for the two functions. Can we implement that? or it is already exist in debugger_branch?

See attach
hi, thanks.
the patch is against debugger_branch? or trunk?
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline ndk

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: The same shortcut for "Start Debug" and "Continue Debug"
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2010, 10:03:30 am »
Yes, I personally there should be only one short-cut key for the two functions. Can we implement that? or it is already exist in debugger_branch?

See attach
hi, thanks.
the patch is against debugger_branch? or trunk?


trunk

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: The same shortcut for "Start Debug" and "Continue Debug"
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2010, 12:12:03 pm »
1. It should be against the debugger branch, because there are many changes to the menu/toolbar handling in there.
   Applying it in trunk is useless, because it should be redone when syncing with the branch....
2. You should remove the separate menus "Start" and "Continue" and probably the menu label should be changed depending on the state of the debugger.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ndk

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: The same shortcut for "Start Debug" and "Continue Debug"
« Reply #7 on: September 05, 2010, 12:31:53 pm »
1. It should be against the debugger branch, because there are many changes to the menu/toolbar handling in there.
   Applying it in trunk is useless, because it should be redone when syncing with the branch....

where are debugger branch on svn?

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: The same shortcut for "Start Debug" and "Continue Debug"
« Reply #8 on: September 05, 2010, 03:11:07 pm »
The branch is wxpropgrid_debugger, also I'll make a patch that will fix this problem.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]