Author Topic: Using Makefiles with CB article  (Read 5957 times)

Offline Gavrillo

• Single posting newcomer
Using Makefiles with CB article
« on: May 18, 2010, 04:59:42 pm »
Hi -  I'm not sure if I'm in the right place, but I've written an article for the wiki.  On the wiki it suggests that you have the article reviewed before submitting it so here it is.  I'm new to CB so if I am in the wrong place perhaps some one will be kind enough to direct me to the right one.  Otherwise remarks and corrections please.

Using makefiles with code::blocks

CB does not, by default,  use makefiles it has its own .cbp files which do the same thing automatically.  There are a few reasons that you might want to use a makefile.  One is if you are migrating  a project that has a makefile to CB (? - is this true - I've never done this)  the other is if you think you might want to take the project out of CB.

Another reason maybe that you need to use a pre-processor for instance one supplied by a database program.  This case is actually covered by CB  from the menu project/build options there appears a tab with pre/post build steps that can be used for this purpose.

This document deals with makefiles using mingw32-make 3.81, CB 8.02 and Wxwidgets 2.8 on Windows Vista, although I’m sure most of it will apply to other configurations.

If you decide that you want to use your own makefile, you only need enter the screen from project/build options and you will see a tick box for 'this is a custom makefile'.  Tick this box, make sure the name just above it is the one you want for your makefile.