Author Topic: Assembler in code::blocks  (Read 37230 times)

Offline pisco

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Assembler in code::blocks
« on: January 17, 2010, 06:18:44 pm »
Hey,
I want to learn assembler and need a compiler(assembler).
Can I integrate an assembler in code::blocks?
Did you know a good one?

I thank you in advance for your time and look forward to your replys.

Best regards
pisco

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Assembler in code::blocks
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2010, 07:18:59 pm »
I want to learn assembler and need a compiler(assembler).
GCC handles assembly just fine.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline pisco

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Assembler in code::blocks
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2010, 07:27:44 pm »
in codeblocks I think gcc is pre-installed. So i only have to save the asm files as .asm

Correct me if i am wrong...

greetz

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Assembler in code::blocks
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2010, 07:44:03 pm »
Correct me if i am wrong...
What I meant was inline assembly. So you don't even need to use ASM files. Refer to the GCC manual for more information.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline pisco

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Assembler in code::blocks
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2010, 07:59:28 pm »
but I want to code in pure assembly.

I searched on the internet for an assembler and found nasm (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netwide_Assembler)
Is it possible to integrated this assembler in code::blocks?

greetz

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Assembler in code::blocks
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2010, 09:27:27 pm »
Is it possible to integrated this assembler in code::blocks?
Generally yes, but it's not that easy (you'll need to implement your own compiler).

However, if you only want to code assembler, have a look as RadAsm (http://www.oby.ro/rad_asm) which is pretty good.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline pisco

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Assembler in code::blocks
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2010, 09:34:22 pm »
thx a lot for your answer MortenMacFly. One last quesition:

Is it possible to integrated this assembler in code::blocks?

greetz

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Assembler in code::blocks
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2010, 09:39:45 pm »
thx a lot for your answer MortenMacFly. One last quesition:

Is it possible to integrated this assembler in code::blocks?
Did you read my last post? :shock:

GREETZ. :lol:
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline TerryP

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • My journal
Re: Assembler in code::blocks
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2010, 05:50:24 am »
If playing with options to the assembler and linker are not a big concern, you can also set C::B to use an custom makefile that handles running as/ld as needed, for whatever assembler you're using.

I usually keep the GNU and Netwide assemblers around, plus the local systems where available (e.g. MASM)
Just Another Computer Geek