Author Topic: CB supports MPI???  (Read 8996 times)

Offline mali2k0823

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
CB supports MPI???
« on: November 17, 2009, 10:33:29 pm »
Hi everyone, I want to know if code::blocks supports MPI and how can I configure it? What I need? Thanks for all

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: CB supports MPI???
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2009, 09:07:13 am »
Hi everyone, I want to know if code::blocks supports MPI and how can I configure it? What I need? Thanks for all
C::B supports any SDK that compiles with the compiler you are using with C::B.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline mali2k0823

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: CB supports MPI???
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2009, 08:16:58 pm »
OK...can you explain more accurate? Im newbie on that. I know c++ and for apply MPI in Microsoft VSC++ I have to configure it before start to use. So What configuration or files or pluggins I need to configure C::B. Thanks

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: CB supports MPI???
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2009, 08:45:17 pm »
So What configuration or files or pluggins I need to configure C::B.
I don't know because I don't know neither the SDK nor the compiler framework you are using.
All I can say is (in the project options):
- Setup the include path's for the compiler as needed so the compiler can find all header files needed and provided by this SDK
- Setup the include path's for the linker as needed so the linker can find all libraries you need to link aginst
- Setup the libraries you need to link against as needed so the linker can resolve all symbols. This may not only apply for the libraries of the SDK you are referring to but also to the required libraries the SDK itself needs (say SDK A needs libraries of SDK B so you'll most likely need to add these libraries, too).

- Consult the SDK's documentation accoring what to setup
- Consult C::B documentation about where to put these options.

This is the very same for *every* SDK. If still unsure ask the devs of the SDK's about dependencies and setup options. Include path's and files to link aginst is the same at least for every compiler framework I know (including VC++ and MinGW/GCC).
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline mali2k0823

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: CB supports MPI???
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2009, 11:32:56 pm »
Oh thanks, but I have to do this on all projects? I mean, actually I try to compile a C++ program that run in DevC++ and VSC++ without problems and when I try to compile on C::B, it says an error like a it dont found or recognize <iostream> header file? I tried to change the compiller to vsc++ 2003/2005 and still with the same issue. How I configure it to compile a simple C++ file? Thanks and sorry for "stupid" question but its the first time that I try code::blocks. Im use VSC++2008 and 6.0, and Devc++ but I want to learn how to use C::B. Thanks.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: CB supports MPI???
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2009, 06:59:54 am »
when I try to compile on C::B, it says an error like a it dont found or recognize <iostream> header file?
See: This is a compiler issue, not a C::B issue. Did you consult the documentation already:
http://www.codeblocks.org/user-manual
???
This is exaxctly for the first steps: Learn how to use C::B.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ