Author Topic: build issue  (Read 5943 times)

Offline wiseguyin

• Single posting newcomer
build issue
« on: June 08, 2009, 09:46:45 am »
Hi all,
I am getting a compile error. Yes, I have read the general notice  before submitting issue. I am not going to ask a programming question.
The error I am getting is:
/home/xyz/Hello.h|7|error: expected ‘=’, ‘,’, ‘;’, ‘asm’ or ‘__attribute__’ before ‘Hello’|

The code at that point is:
Code
#ifndef HELLO_H
#define HELLO_H

class Hello { //Error happens here
    public:
        char greeting[6];
};

#endif

So the default gcc compiler is not recognizing the keyword "Class".
So My question is: how do I change the compiler from gcc to g++ using Code::Blocks?

I tried hand-editing the cbp file but it complained that the compiler could not located.

Suggestions?

PS: If it helps: I am writing a Nautilus extension and will be mixing a lot of C and C++ code.

thanks,
w|z0

Offline Dr.Optix

• Multiple posting newcomer
  • I'm studying OS Developing.
    • DrOptix Blog
Re: build issue
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 10:05:10 am »
When you create a Project/File choose C++ as the language you use. See screenshot.

[attachment deleted by admin]
IDE: Code::Blocks Nightly / CodeLite Latest Stable
Compiler: TDM's GCC/mingw32
Blog: DrOptix.WordPress.Com

Offline stahta01

• Lives here!
    • My Best Post
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 10:07:44 am »
Also, do not use .c as the file extension; it is preferred to use .cpp, under windows; but, not using .c should help.

Tim S
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline Jenna

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 10:16:58 am »
You can also try to configure g++ as c-compiler in the toolchain-executables tab.

But I don't know, if that has any side-effects.

Offline wiseguyin

« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2009, 05:43:38 pm »
@stahta01: