Author Topic: Cross Platform Programming issue  (Read 3241 times)

Offline Dr.Optix

• Multiple posting newcomer
  • I'm studying OS Developing.
    • DrOptix Blog
Cross Platform Programming issue
« on: May 18, 2009, 07:18:56 pm »
Hope I don't violate forum post policy but here is my little problem

I want to create a GUI framework in c++ the aim is to hit both linux and windows.

Because you are cross platform developers I ask you how you would do it.

1. Write separate versions of the framework(or any piece of cross platform app), one around Win32 API and one around GTK+?
2. You would write one project and use a lot of
    #ifdef _WIN32
        //win32 stuff here
    #else
        //linux/gtk+ stuff here

Thanx for your time and hope someone will tell me how it is recommended to be done

~Dr.Optix
IDE: Code::Blocks Nightly / CodeLite Latest Stable
Compiler: TDM's GCC/mingw32
Blog: DrOptix.WordPress.Com

Offline killerbot

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: Cross Platform Programming issue
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2009, 08:37:48 pm »
or hide it behind interfaces, and have one cpp implement it for linux, and another cpp for windows.
And then you can create an app with CB, with a linux target and windows target. You add the files to the project but only to the target they should belong to (the linux file only to the linux target) etc ...

That's one way ;-)

Offline thomas

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: Cross Platform Programming issue
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2009, 11:24:51 am »
Because you are cross platform developers I ask you how you would do it.
Well, in this project, we went the "easy" way and just used wxWidgets. That's nearly as much trouble as writing your own cross-platform kit, though (and some things still don't work properly on non-Windows).