Author Topic: Usability issues  (Read 30148 times)

Offline lexis

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #15 on: February 24, 2009, 11:15:29 am »
SciTE reports 8-bit (means ASCII) for xmltest.cpp attached at previous post...

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #16 on: February 24, 2009, 11:36:22 am »
SciTE reports 8-bit (means ASCII) for xmltest.cpp attached at previous post...

As far as I know ASCII has just 7-bits, not 8. So the report is just wrong.

The file contains german umlauts and ß and can therefore not be ASCII.

Offline lexis

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #17 on: February 24, 2009, 02:31:56 pm »
Yes, you are right...
I mean "ASCII" as non unicode or multibyte...
8-bit equals ASCII if byte value <= 0x7F(127)
If byte value > 0x7F then character can be defined according some encoding (CP1251 or CP1252 [since I'm from Russia] or some else).
There no info about particular encoding is in the file.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5913
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #18 on: May 29, 2009, 04:39:31 pm »
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #19 on: May 29, 2009, 08:48:19 pm »
There is more serious/annoying issue related to the tooltips (I suppose it is a known one (I think, I've reported it in the past)):

Step to reproduce:
1. Stop at break point
2. Select variable
3. Open the context menu, with the desire to use the "add watch" menu option
4. The tooltip with the current value of that variable is shown and the context menu is closed.

The "add watch" option works but I've to be very fast (I beat the tooltip 1 from 10 tries :( ) :(

Update: after little hacking of the C::B source, I've made a fix for it:

Code
Index: src/include/editorbase.h
===================================================================
--- src/include/editorbase.h    (revision 5611)
+++ src/include/editorbase.h    (working copy)
@@ -218,7 +218,7 @@
 
         /** Clear Undo- (and Changebar-) history */
         virtual void ClearHistory(){}
-       
+
         /** Goto next changed line */
         virtual void GotoNextChanged(){}
 
@@ -233,7 +233,7 @@
 
         /** Enable or disable ScrollWidthTracking */
         virtual void SetScrollWidthTracking(bool trackWidth){}
-       
+
         /** Cut selected text/object to clipboard. */
         virtual void Cut(){}
 
@@ -282,6 +282,8 @@
         /** Select everything in the editor
           */
         virtual void SelectAll() { return; }
+
+        virtual bool IsContextMenuOpened() const;
     protected:
         /** Initializes filename data.
           * @param filename The editor's filename for initialization.
Index: src/sdk/editorbase.cpp
===================================================================
--- src/sdk/editorbase.cpp      (revision 5611)
+++ src/sdk/editorbase.cpp      (working copy)
@@ -389,3 +389,8 @@
         event.Skip();
     }
 }
+
+bool EditorBase::IsContextMenuOpened() const
+{
+    return m_pData->m_DisplayingPopupMenu;
+}
Index: src/plugins/debuggergdb/debuggergdb.cpp
===================================================================
--- src/plugins/debuggergdb/debuggergdb.cpp     (revision 5611)
+++ src/plugins/debuggergdb/debuggergdb.cpp     (working copy)
@@ -2495,6 +2495,9 @@
     if (!ed)
         return;
 
+    if(ed->IsContextMenuOpened())
+        return;
+
     int style = event.GetInt();
     if (style != wxSCI_C_DEFAULT && style != wxSCI_C_OPERATOR && style != wxSCI_C_IDENTIFIER)

Any feedback is welcome ...
Best regards
« Last Edit: May 29, 2009, 09:12:34 pm by oBFusCATed »
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5913
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #20 on: May 30, 2009, 03:16:44 am »
Yes, many overlaying issues, this is another one I encountered.
I will test your patches soon.
Edit:

Hi, I test your patch, and it works quite well, I think the devs should consider these patches. :D

By the way, I just copy you patch and created a *.patch file, but when I try to apply the patch using TortoiseSVN, it gives a "Chunk size error" message, so, I have to add to your code manually.  :(
« Last Edit: May 30, 2009, 04:26:41 am by ollydbg »
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #21 on: May 30, 2009, 06:43:58 am »
Yes, you are right...
I mean "ASCII" as non unicode or multibyte...
8-bit equals ASCII if byte value <= 0x7F(127)
If byte value > 0x7F then character can be defined according some encoding (CP1251 or CP1252 [since I'm from Russia] or some else).
There no info about particular encoding is in the file.

I suggest removing the "Legacy mode test." Lines 1087 to 1104 it looks to be the only none ASCII portion.

Tim S
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5491
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #22 on: May 30, 2009, 09:20:14 am »
applied the patch (rev 5612). Excellent work :-)

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #23 on: May 30, 2009, 09:04:07 pm »
applied the patch (rev 5612). Excellent work :-)
Yepp - nice catch. ;-)
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline geiermeier

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #24 on: June 02, 2009, 09:04:38 am »
Quote
Issue 7: Send command to debugger field

I think this one was requested once a long time ago. It would be a seldom used feature, but it would also be handy to have. The debugger output window would be a good place to put it in.

I second this one, too. Using the "Send user command to debugger" option is just too cumbersome. It's one of the most annoying things in CB for me.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5913
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #25 on: June 02, 2009, 05:25:27 pm »
Quote
Issue 7: Send command to debugger field

I think this one was requested once a long time ago. It would be a seldom used feature, but it would also be handy to have. The debugger output window would be a good place to put it in.

I second this one, too. Using the "Send user command to debugger" option is just too cumbersome. It's one of the most annoying things in CB for me.

As far As I can remember, this functionality has already implemented, their is a small dialog for you to enter the command directly to GDB. :D
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #26 on: June 02, 2009, 08:12:47 pm »
As far As I can remember, this functionality has already implemented, their is a small dialog for you to enter the command directly to GDB. :D
That is correct, but if you want to send a list of commands it's annoying to open this dialog over-and-over again. That's why there should indeed be a "static" input box, e.g. in the debugger's log / whatever window.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5913
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #27 on: June 03, 2009, 03:14:54 am »
@macfly
I second the static input box inside "debugger's log panel" :D.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #28 on: June 04, 2009, 01:27:13 pm »
I vote for "Issue 6: Set next instruction", priceless when you get used to it (gdb implementation might not be 100% working, thought) :lol:

I want to add another annoying issue:
The tooltips steal the keyboard focus from the editor and the shortcuts are not processed anymore  :(
So I have to move the mouse to disable the debugging tooltip, while I'm stepping through the code :(

Where is the problem in wx, cb or gtk? I'm observing this problem on linux (I don't remember if it is pressent on windows)
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2775
Re: Usability issues
« Reply #29 on: June 05, 2009, 02:23:41 pm »
...
I want to add another annoying issue:
The tooltips steal the keyboard focus from the editor and the shortcuts are not processed anymore  :(
So I have to move the mouse to disable the debugging tooltip, while I'm stepping through the code :(

Where is the problem in wx, cb or gtk? I'm observing this problem on linux (I don't remember if it is pressent on windows)

It occurs on wndows also. but the following will stop it.



Place statement 2507(above) in the proper line for your version of debuggergdb.cpp .

The member is "void DebuggerGDB::OnValueTooltip(CodeBlocksEvent& event)"

« Last Edit: June 05, 2009, 02:26:10 pm by Pecan »